New to Audi A3 Owner...Advice

wrightyred

Hello All

I am new to the Audi family and need a bit of advice from experienced owners....I have owned several lower priced cars and taken them to my local (back street ) garage for servicing .I have had my Audi A3 Diesel 1.6 (15 plate)  since April 19 and it is ready for its first service . I will be looking at selling on in 3 years time due to high milage that I drive so the ask is,  do I get it serviced from a main dealer or still continue with my back street garage who still stamps the book ? The advice i am looking for is the resell value as is it more to sell an 7 year old audi with servicing stamps or 7 year old audi with dealer stamps ??

Cheers

Wrightyred

Hello Steven,

Service history ‘sells’ newish cars. Mileage and above all, condition, sells 7 year old vehicles. 

Working out your economics is important, and you must consider your perceived increase in value by having main dealer service history against the additional (considerable?) dealer service costs involved during your ownership. 

Please accept this as only a personal viewpoint, but I have never considered full  dealer   service history to be king. After all, how do we rate a vehicle which has been well cared for - by its owner - and serviced (with evidence) by the local garage, compared with one which the owner has simply used and passed into a main dealer for half a day every so often? 

If I were mine:- I would look after it on a day to day basis, entrust it’s servicing to a trusted ( in caps) local garage, but most importantly insist that they only use quality parts. For your part, ensure you keep every invoice for all (in caps) service and repair expenditure on the car. A stamp in a service book doesn’t really tell you much! 

Pending other replies, it’s over to you Steven to do some economics homework, so you can make a considered decision once you receive other replies. 

Kind regards,

Gareth.