Why Audi???

Hi Y'all

I'm just about to buy an Audi again after a five year break and wondered why others are attracted to the marque???

I've been driving for 40 years (old bugger) and the only serial-buying I've done before has been Merc estates ( 4 of them) starting with a 200TE in 1990.. Great cars and got me hooked on premium German engineering but my need for a load-lugger  is over.

Back in the mid 90's I had a temporary loan (2 months) of an Audi A4 2.4 manual as my company car was being ordered. Both the wife (having her approve is very important as we share our cars) really liked it. I loved the styling of the original A4s and the peppy 2.4 six and the  fawn leather interior made it a really enjoyable experience.

Fast forward to 2002 and the wife's Golf Cabriolet needed changing with the arrival of sprog number 2 and a "sensible" hatchback was on the cards. It also needed to carry my wife's huge working kit in the boot section (expensive items so could not be carried with the back seats down). We had seen the A2 in a showroom and were impressed by the quality, the aluminum technology   and the (then) very futuristic styling (we forget how much of an impact the look of this and the Merc A Class has a the time) and by chance Audi decided to offload a batch of brand-new A2s on the market at a huge discount ( they weren't selling very well when a Toyota Yaris was 70% of the new price with similar performance specifications on paper)...and enjoyed 12 years of this legendary car until a 17 year old "hot-rodder" decided to wipe it out on a roundabout...grr

With the A2 well out of production we opted to replace it with a Merc A Class - nice but nowhere near as good a car as our trusty A2.

Which brings me to today,,,,kids grown up and the wife wanting to go back to convertible motoring our choices were;

A Merc 200SLK Kompressor Convertible

A BMW 120I Convertible

An Audi A3 2.0 TFSI Convertible.