2009 EPB

RoyC

If you fit new EPB rear brake calipers, do you have to program them or are they plug and play ?

I have a vag com for opening and closing.

1 hour ago, RoyC said:

If you fit new EPB rear brake calipers, do you have to program them or are they plug and play ?

I have a vag com for opening and closing.

Hi they will need recoding and adaptation but if you have Vagcom its doable just make sure you save the original long coding as that will get you out of the cr@p if it starts going sideways.

Steve

• Like 1

10 hours ago, Stevey Y said:

Hi they will need recoding and adaptation but if you have Vagcom its doable just make sure you save the original long coding as that will get you out of the cr@p if it starts going sideways.

Steve

Thanks Steve.

On 5/31/2022 at 8:26 PM, Stevey Y said:

Steve

I am not very good at coding.

Just a thought, If I get new calipers and fit my actuators to them, then they won't need coding.

Am I correct ?

10 hours ago, RoyC said:

I am not very good at coding.

Just a thought, If I get new calipers and fit my actuators to them, then they won't need coding.

Am I correct ?

Hi thats correct but you gave no clue as to whats wrong with the old ones so I was working on the assumption that one or both sides had some sort of failure electronically, if you don't have to replace the actuators all good but whatever you do put the rear brakes into service/pad change mode before fitting new units and above all do not unplug the drive motors or you will loose the existing coding, then you will have real problems.

Steve.

• Like 1

12 minutes ago, Stevey Y said: