avant 1.8t rear wheel bearing

bradspit1

hi there, im new to audi just bought an a4 avant 1.8t (190) im needing a rear drivers side wheel bearing and wondered if mine has the abs sensor ring?

ive seen the wheel bearing on its own but also seen the complete assembly with the abs ring etc so wondered if it would be easier to just buy the whole assembly?

this is assuming the rears have the abs ring etc as well as the fronts? any help or info would be great thanks!

Hello Colin,

Good question. 

To start, personally I would not go with fitting a new wheel bearing into your existing hub. - too much effort for the work involved. 

If it’s of any help, we have just replaced the rear hub on a 2006 A3 due to an ABS warning light issue. There wasn’t a ‘stand alone’ ABS ring  on this hub. In fact no ring at all. As a I understand it the ABS is energised by a built in magnetic section into the hub casing - this being a very weak magnet which might be virtually undectable - but there. These magnets are so weak as to cause issues if their magnetism falls off slightly. 

I didn’t go with a VAG part this time but bought a good quality aftermarket one by Febi Bilstein. Worth looking on the old ? Bay for good prices.

Hope some of this may help.

Kind regards,

Gareth. 

thanks for the reply. can anyone confirm that theres no abs ring on the rear of a4 avant 1.8T ? surely it cant be that bad to replace a wheel bearing that you,d rather replace the whole hub?

Sorry Colin, but you’ve lost me. 

Febi hub for A3 was c£48 delivered. Bearing on it own probably about mid £20s plus. Why would you want to be attempting to pull an old bearing out, and press (assume you’ve got a press) a new one in, for barely a £20 saving? The hub has to come off anyway! 

ABS ring, no ring? Thought I’d covered that. IF it’s the same as the A3 then no ring just a weak magnet - weak enough not to signal ABS after 13 years. New bearing in old hub? Pretty obvious outcome if yours is the same as A3.