2012 1.8 tfsi special ed - low compression on cylinders 2 & 3. Help needed!

Shortxiv

Hello,

Newbie here and looking for some advice for my father in law's 1.8 tfsi A3 special edition s-tronic. It's done just over 60k and is well looked after. He was driving it a few weeks ago and it suddenly started misfiring and threw up the engine management light. He took it to a garage and they couldn't determine the issue but tested the obvious stuff like the spark plugs. He opted to take it to a dealership, who stripped the head and said very little other than the valve seals not being perfect and that cylinder 2 & 3 have low compression. They're advising he need an engine replacement. 

This seems a bit drastic, what do you guys think?

Here's a link to the video provided by the Audi dealer

https://youtu.be/1gt5vYmaj2U

Any input or advice would be massively appreciated

Thanks!

Darren

I agree with the diagnosis provided by Audi which is very clear: the low compression is a result of worn or broken piston rings, possibly also associated with worn bores. (The soot on the valve stems was caused by incomplete combustion of the fuel as a result of the low compression.) Three solutions occur to me:

[1] Rebore and totally rebuild the existing engine.

[2] Buy a new engine.

[3] Buy a secondhand engine.

Options 1 will give you effectively the same as option 2 in terms of performance and durability if it is done properly, i.e. a new engine. Reboring used to be cheaper years ago but that may not be the case now given the high cost of labour. Option 3 will be cheapest but the quality will be a lottery.

Hello Darren,

Lower compression on two adjacent cylinders is text book head gasket failure between those two cylinders, unless - by rare coincidence, these are the only two cylinders to suffer from poorly seating valves and/or piston/ bore wear.

I haven’t looked at the video, so excuse me if I’ve missed something, but incase I haven’t, I would make the following suggestions:-