EML light. P0420 Code: Catalyst System Efficiency Below Threshold (Bank 1)

GraemeB

Hello - I'm new to Audi's and need some help. I recently bought a lovely 2010 Audi S3 Sportback. Gorgeous car. I've not long had it and the engine management light has come on; took it into my local garage and they said it's showing this error code - P0420 Code: Catalyst System Efficiency Below Threshold (Bank 1). [harsh to pay £60 just to get that info]

From what I can deduce; it's either an issue with the Cat or Sensors or both. Although first off; I will use a Cat Cleaner petrol treatment. 

So I have a few questions:

• Any tips on a good cat cleaner petrol additive to use in an Audi? Halfords sell Cataclean; ECP sell TopCat?
  • Any other tips on resolving the issue without replacing either Cat or Sensors?
  • If I do have to replace either of these; any idea on likely average cost?
  • Any tips on a good value code reader to buy? (i won't be shelling out £60 the next time a light comes on)

Thanks in advance. I do very much appreciate any tips

Hi Graeme...welcome to the forum

Sorry for the late reply, only just read this post.

I would try a cleaner first, especially if the car is only smoked around town.

Firstly, I believe the fault is with a lazy sensor so a cleaner is a good place to start. I have previously used Halfords own cleaner as it looked the most aggressive with the most amount of Ethanol in it, along with an Italian Tune-up, worked a treat.

Let us know how you get on with it

Cheers  Trevor