Leak near front nearside

Rust81

Go to solution Solved by Rust81,

Hi everyone, I’m after some help please! I’ve just noticed a leak from the front nearside. The undertray is catching it so suspect the leak could be elsewhere. I thought it was coolant but not so sure as the levels seem fine. Just wondering if this is something common or any tips on things to check. Thanks!

IMG_2803.jpeg

Thanks both. Seems to be clear and not oily but difficult to tell as it’s dripped onto gravel on the drive.  Have put some newspaper underneath to try and get a better look 

just to add that when the car is turned off there is a whining sound that last 30-60 seconds. It seems to be in the same area as the leak. I’m new to Audi so no idea if this is normal or not. 

Edited by Rust81

I actually think this is a coolant leak. Can’t see anything obvious around the cap or any of the pipes on view. Will book it into the garage and try and limit driving in the meantime. 

I took the car for a drive around the block last night and had the red coolant warning appear with the turn your engine off message. I was only one road from home so got it back and temp didn’t get above 90. Obviously I need to get it to a garage so I will fill the coolant up and see if it holds to get it the 2-3 min journey to the local garage. My question - should I just top it up with water or use the non g12 coolant (Prestone) that I bought? I’ve read that mixing coolant isn’t a great idea. Any advice?