Changing oil filter A4

Bishuk

Hi

i have been trying to change my oil filter in my 2019 A4 2.0 TDI Quattro and just can seem to get the plastic cover off. It’s tucked away behind the coolant reservoir and I can’t seem to move the coolant reservoir without the coolant squirting out of the pipes.

im no mechanic but thought that changing an oil filter should be quite easy as it’s a serviceable part.

any help would be greatly required as having to stump up £140 for oil and filter every 10k gets a bit tedious.

Thanks in advance

Hi Matt,

Can you provide a picture?

From my previous 2017 A4 2.0 TDI saloon (not quattro, so i don't know if that makes any difference).  Yes it was a pain to remove the oil filter.  I had to unscrew the coolant reservoir and gently nudge that over to give me space.  Thankfully no spillages.  Not sure why you would have coolant coming from the pipes?  I don't know if that is the correct way, but it was the only way i could see it being done.

Thanks, Joe

Hi Joe

thanks for your reply.

the coolant came out when I disconnected one of the pipes attached to the reservoir! I think it was still under pressure. 
move attached a picture of where the filter is. I just can’t seem to unscrew it either. It is very tight.

IMG_0472.jpeg

No, the reservoir is still in its original position. I managed to move it over when I disconnected it by a bit but there is a “T” piece rubber pipe at the bottom that doesn’t budge much.

this may sound stupid but does the filter screw off anti clockwise? 
I only ask as stamped on the top of the cover it states the newtons which to tighten it too but also an arrow that points clockwise! I wasn’t sure if this is to show the way to tighten or loosen..

thanks

On 9/11/2023 at 5:30 PM, Bishuk said:

this may sound stupid but does the filter screw off anti clockwise?