Immobilizer 1994 Cabriolet

flyingpete212

I recently bought a 1994 Cabriolet which has been running ok until I changed a non working central locking pump. Now it refuses to start and  the immobilizer lights have started to work for the first time since I bought it.

On speaking to previous owner he lost the main keys and had to get a auto electrician to by pass the immobilizer and supply a non chipped key.

Looks like the replacement c/l pump has resurrected the system? 

My question does anyone know how to disconnect or bypass the immobilizer?

Any help would be appreciated as car been stood now for 2 months and would be a shame to scrap it.

audicon5.jpg

I would imagine the central locking pump would be linked in some way yes.

Sounds silly, but have you thought about just splashing out and getting a proper chipped key from Audi, just to save any hassle.

Hi again, I have never worked with immobilizers before so enlisted it to a local VW-Audi garage they had it a month and could not sort it out (think they gave up after first day claimed easier & quicker fitting brake shoes than sorting mine) a auto electrician has now got it (3 weeks) he struggling as well? Asked about the key reckons we cant get the code for it?? Now on about sending ECU to have immobilizer chip removed. 

Tried on eBay to acquire ECU, Key lock and barrel, and Immobilizer box. Got a reply this morning they did not have a immobilizer fitted??? Help!!!!

Oh dear sounds like you are a bit stuck :sad:

I would say a good Auto electrician is still the best place for it to be if you don't want to pay Audi prices. May be worth asking Audi about the key anyway?

Surely you must have an immobiliser if the light is coming on...

I agree must have one fitted.

Its a 20+ yr old car if we new what the problem was I would have a idea what its gonna cost.

But as its a unknown problem how long will it take to remedy at £35 ph. cost me £400 in auto electricians up to press and still not sorted.