2L A6 S Line Ultra TDI Black edition - Newbie question ?

Wisp13

Hi Folks

Newbie here, and 1st post so hope you'll be gentle.................Recently picked up my ( 9 month old )  2L A6 S line Ultra TDI Black edition Auto with 7k on the clock, and I'm delighted with it, lots of toys and drives really nice, but need to pick your brains. I'm covering mostly motorway miles ( 1,500 in 1st month of ownership ), and although I'm driving like Miss Dairy at around constant 65mph, I'm only getting 44mpg - I've checked brim to brim, and the numbers are correct. Is this about right for this 2L car, as I'm quite disappointed by the low mpg return in relation to the manufacturers claimed figures ( I know they just think of a number & double it most of the time, and it usually bears no relation to real life ! )? Im just out a 3 year old BMW 520d M sport Auto, and was enjoying easily 56mpg on average on exactly the same journey, so the A6 is returning 12 mpg less ( - 20% or so ). In your experience, does this sound "normal" for this car ?  I've tried it up both on comfort & also Auto mode ,and there's very little difference on the mileage. 

Is this MPG about right, or is there possibly an issue I should be aware of ?

Hope to hear from you guys soon......and thanks !

I would say that 44mpg is not too bad overall but way short of manufacturer claims.

The manufacturer claims have recently been proved as inaccurate as they were carried out on a rolling road simulation...so I wouldn't worry too much about what they claim.

Several A7 owners have complained of even lower mpg figures.

Remapping may increase economy so possibly worth looking into.

Cheers  Trevor

Hi Trevor thanks for the reply, and I know that manufacturers claims are myth & legend lol